Mitzi on…My Lovely Sam-soon Episode 8

After the debacle of episode 7, I came into Episode 8 wondering if my sanity would survive.  It wasn’t my sanity in trouble this episode, it turns out, but my tears!!! Gah!

Cast:

  • Kim Suna as Kim Sam-soon
  • Hyun Bin as Hyun Jin-heon
  • Jeong Ryeo-won as Yoo Hee-jin
  • Daniel Henney as Dr. Henry Kim (Dr. Hotpants)
  • Kim Ja Ok as Park Bong-Sook – Sam-soon’s mom
  • Lee Ah-hyun as Kim Yi-Young – Sam-soon’s sister
  • Na Moon-hee as Na Hyun-Sook – Jin-heon’s mom
  • Suh Ji Hee as Hyun Mi-joo – Jin-heon’s niece
  • Yoon Ye-hee as Yoon Hyun-sook – Jin-heon’s “aunt”
  • Lee Kyu-han as Min Hyun-woo – Sam-soon’s ex
  • Lee Yoon-mi as Jang Chae-Ri

So…things happened.

First, Jin-heon and his ex are back together but don’t tell anyone for 4 days.

Secondly, Jin-heon and Dr. Hotpants have this territorial thing going on for Hee-jin

Thirdly, Sam-soon is ‘that’ kind of girl.  You know, the kind of girl that can’t tell that she’s just been dumped and keeps calling/texting the ex even though he never gets in contact back.  I’m sure all of us woman who have a cell phone have done this at some point.  Most of us grow out of it…some don’t.  This is why I wish Sam-soon’s sister would have just taken her cell phone away!  It was so awkward to see Sam-soon constantly texting Jin-heon.

She even goes out of her way to prepare breakfast for Jin-heon.  It was quite pitiful to watch…Sam-soon is not acting like herself.  But when she delivers the breakfast to Jin-heon’s apartment, she sees both him and his ex(now current) girlfriend. Jin-heon tells her he’s going to date Hee-jin now.  Sam-soon doesn’t like this, I’m sure she felt like an idiot and so she kicks him. (take a drink?)

In the words of Sir Elton John, “The bitch is back!”   HUZZAH!  Finally!  So she tells Jin-heon that she doesn’t like him anymore and that he can go jump off a bridge (she didn’t really say jump off a bridge, but she should have).  It’s all stuff people say when their ego’s are bruised, I know cause I’ve been there…many times.  Ahem.

And in true badass fashion, as she storms off on her trusty beach cruiser bicycle, she get’s into an accident with a scooter and gets taken to the hospital.  And Jin-heon sees all of this…D’OH! (take another drink?)

At this point, Jin-heon didn’t get all of Sam-soon’s voice mails and listens to them over Sam-soon’s sleeping/snoring body.  Surprisingly, he’s actually touched at how much she cared for him.

When Sam-soon wakes up in the hospital, she’s feels incredibly uncomfortable to see both Jin-heon and Hee-jin standing over her.  (Well, duh)

This is where we (or at least me, since I’m oblivious) realize that Sam-soon’s sister and Jin-heon’s ex are the two women on the plane from the first episode.  (seriously, took me 8 episodes to realize this.  I should feel shame. but I don’t)

Jin-heon’s mother tells Hee-jin to take a hike since she doesn’t want her son to marry a sick person.  And the tears flow. Not mine, however.  No sympathy for Hee-jin!  none!

However, Sam-soon’s brutally honest discussion with her deceased father (what? is she crazy now? or just drunk?) completely melted the ice around my heart.  Made me feel sad feelings.  Made water leak from my eyeballs. Made me miss my dad!

If there is one thing the Korean drama’s are really good at, its making crying scenes like this one incredibly moving.

OMG!  I am Sam-soon!!!

DON’T CRY SAM-SOON. I’LL CRY ENOUGH FOR THE BOTH OF US!!!

One thought on “Mitzi on…My Lovely Sam-soon Episode 8

  1. Pingback: My Lovely Sam-soon Episode 11 | Kdrama Summer Viewing Challenge

Leave a Reply

