Mitzi on…Boys Before Flowers (꽃보다 남자)

I figure until I start watching The List, I’d give my thoughts on the other dramas I’ve previously watched.  So, I guess it makes sense to start with the first one.

Boys Before Flowers

Oh, I should mention, that same female student (the one who yelled at me for pronouncing the ‘u’ in Ikemen Desu Ne) also yelled at me for calling this drama ‘Boys Over Flowers’.   My bad. When will I ever learn?!

Cast:

Actual name/character name/nickname I give to help me remember who they are

  • Ku Hye Sun as Geum Jan Di  (Main girl)
  • Lee Min Ho as Gu Jun Pyo (Main girl’s main squeeze and main dude)
  • Kim Hyun Joong as Yoon Ji Hoo (Main dude’s 1st BFF)
  • Kim Joon as Song Woo Bin (Main dude’s 2nd BFF)
  • Kim Bum as So Ee Jung (Main Dude’s 3rd BFF)
  • Kim So Eun as Chu Ga Eul (I forgot who this is)

WARNING!  HERE BE SPOILERS!

Anywho, I started watching this drama and at about half way through I found the Japanese version and watched that entirely before returning to this one.  So…where should I start?

Let me Mitzi-fy the plot.  Main girl gets into ultra exclusive high school run by Main dude and his 3 BFF’s. They are called F4 and have the following of a boyband (but without the singing).  Main dude ridicules Main girl and gets entire school to terrorize her in order to make her leave. Lovely.

Main girl humiliates Main dude and that makes him fall in love with her.  (?! why does this not work in real life?!)  However Main girl is in love with Main dude’s BFF #1.  Throw in typical high school shenanigans and a few episodes later BOOM! Main dude and Main girl are in love.

Follow that with Main dude’s mom being an uber beotch and literally making Main girl homeless for daring to date Main dude.  (the audacity! gasp!)  Main dude and Main girl break up, make up, break up, make up, Main dude gets amnesia and forgets Main girl.  Main dude finally remembers Main girl when she almost kills herself and he’s forced to save her. (WTF?!)

The End.

It was exhausting to watch and the plot (based on a manga that I would barely get through) had me so irritated by the implausible situations that I technically still haven’t completed it.

BUT I still it was humorous and enjoyable.

And, I really have to mention this, but this guy’s character (mannerism’s, personality, family situation and even looks) reminds me so much of a very dear friend  that passed away a few years ago that I was somewhat unsettled by it.  I mean, it’s not a compliment to be compared to a wealthy playboy that hits and runs every chance he gets, but it’s the truth.  And I think being so startled by the similarities between his character and my friend kept me watching for as long as I did.  Other than that, seeing as it was  a high school aged drama, and I’m clearly not high school aged, I don’t think I appreciated the drama as much as others would.  Don’t get me wrong, its totes rad!  I’m just not the target audience.

7/10 for playing “Almost Paradise” in every friggin’ episode.

But I’ll still take it to mean that he’s pretty.

3 thoughts on “Mitzi on…Boys Before Flowers (꽃보다 남자)

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Korea (town) | Kdrama Summer Viewing Challenge

  2. Pingback: Mitzi on…City Hunter | Kdrama Summer Viewing Challenge

  3. Pingback: Mitzi on…Shut Up Flower Boy Band!!! | Kdrama Summer Viewing Challenge

Leave a Reply

